More Game Chasing in Rockford, IL

It has been many months since my last update about chasing retro video games here in Rockford. Since then a few new stores have opened up to replace the lost Gamewerks.

1. TNT Games, 845 S Perryville Rd Suite 115

This is your standard video game resale shop. Nothing too special about it. The staff has been friendly every time I’ve visited. However, their prices on NES and SNES games are quite high. I’m talking $5 for sports titles and $10 for other common titles high. On the other hand, their prices for newer games is usually a little lower than what I’m used to seeing. So it’s a toss up. My suggestion would be to use this place as a backup and first check out:

2. Games Corner, 6915 East State Street

This small resale store has a small supply, but their prices are terrific. Games are priced to sell so I was able to pick up a Castlevania III for the NES for $11. I have never seen that game priced so low, especially from a place that knows value of particular games. Another cool aspect of this store is that they are a rental store as well. You can rent any game on their shelf. Not just the newest titles. That way you can check out a retro game before you make the investment on buying it.

 

That’s all for now. I’m always on the lookout for new places and I hope to hit up some additional thrift stores once the new year rolls around and work slows down a bit. I’m also wondering if I should make this guide a page rather than just keep making new blog entries. Hmm…

About davidaschulz

I'm a video production professional with a nerdy passion for movies, Transformers, Star Wars, and retro video games. I also read comic books and play the occasional modern game. View all posts by davidaschulz

Leave a Reply

